2/11/13

Let me start by saying, I am blessed. I have a great life, with a family and friends that love me. My life hasn’t always been easy, but in the end I’m thankful for God giving me the life that I have.

I have been thinking lately about how ridiculous it is that our society puts so much pressure and importance on relationships at such a young age. Shouldn’t the fact that even the kids in elementary school feel like they need to have boyfriends and girlfriends tell us something? I think that screws so many kids up. Kids should be brought up in a world where that’s not important. No matter what age you are, having a romantic relationship isn’t going to fix all your problems. I think young people for some reason are brought up thinking that’s going to help somehow. I imagine a world where the idea of dating doesn’t even cross people’s minds until adulthood, (yes, I realize hormones come into the picture during the pre-teen/teenage years) where everyone is just friends and theres not that added level of pressure. Kids have enough to worry about as youth, they shouldn’t need or want to have a boyfriend/girlfriend to feel normal.

I think the reason this bothers me so much is because I was one of those kids. I knew so many kids growing up that had relationships, and I wanted one too. I was always nervous around boys because in the back of my mind I would think there was always the potential of us dating and that scared me. I’m 21 years old now, I haven’t had any really serious relationships yet. I’ve never been in love, and I’m still happy. As much as I like the idea of a boyfriend, I don’t need one. When I finally meet someone that I can see a future with that’ll be great, but I’m not going to live my life waiting for the perfect guy.

It’s terrible to me that our society makes people think they need a guy/girl to be happy. Let me just tell you, you don’t. Maybe I find it so easy to not worry about it anymore because I have God in my life. Maybe I’ve just realized that I need to be happy with myself before I can truly let anyone know the real me, and until then it’s not going to workout with anyone no matter how great they are. I guess I can’t really define the reason for it not being a big deal to me anymore. I just think everyone needs to get to a place where they’re okay being alone. If you find someone who makes you happy, great! But make sure you’re being 100% yourself, don’t hide or change who you are for someone. Be great on your own, and then find someone who makes you want to be even greater.

2 thoughts on “2/11/13

Leave a comment